Iowa | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
My husband is currently incarcerated in Iowa State Penitentiary. He has a large fatty tumor on his shoulder which has grown considerably since he's been incarcerated. He has been taken for a biopsy and recommended for general surgery, however, the prison is denying him the surgery. He has appealed through the process as required and still been denied.
When the prison did the biopsy, this incision got infected to the point the stitches fell out on the bandaid prompting medical attention and antibiotics. He feels he is being denied medical treatment in having this removed. He is ridiculed daily for the size of this by all around him.
Is there something we can do to get the treatment he deserves?


