Legal Question in Construction Law in Iowa

I am working on a project we were subcontracted to do in the state of iowa.

The project owner is spending 1.5 million dollars on this project , we are contracted to only perform the dirt and sewer work. We sent a bill over a month ago now and they are refusing to pay the bill during construction time. If we file a mechanics lien on this property for non payment will his bank / lender refuse lending services to him to complete this project since he has not paid his bills at this time? The project is only 25% compleated at this time for all the work total contracted out , but the dirt and sewer work is 90% completed at this time of bill from are company and contracted to do. Will his bank pay the lein bill or will he? Will the denie lending the rest of the project for him?

Asked on 8/06/13, 8:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

What does your contract with the project owner say?

Read more
Answered on 8/07/13, 8:38 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Construction Law questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Construction Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now