Legal Question in Criminal Law in Iowa

Can I be charged with theft 4th if I didn't leave the store? I was at Wal-mart in Iowa on December 24th, BUSY shopping day. My cousin-23, my son-4months, and me-18. We had a cart full of items and were ready to check out. All the lines were really long and my son was crying and freaking out. We planned on going by the door so I could take his carseat and go get the car while she checked out. There were a lot of people behind us, so we went through the 1st set of doors, an undercover employee stopped us and said something to my cousin and I was trying to get his carseat off while everyone was staring because he was crying so loud. Then I started to walk out while the cart was still there with my cousin because she had to go back and check-out. The worker was saying she was calling the cops and I just told my cousin "come-on, we will just go somewhere else. He is freaking, I'm not gonna stand here and talk to her". We left with nothing because the lady embarrassed us and made people stare even more and I was aggravated enough by "holiday shoppers" that I just had to get out of there. We left, then a cop called me an hour later and said we were being charged and I told the cop that we didn't steal anything, we didn't even leave the store. Now today, I was arrested for a warrant for 4th degree theft!? How can that be when I didn't take anything? What do I do? How do I do it? I'm in college, I have a job. I am not a low-life that goes out stealing....especially an ENTIRE cart worth of stuff. How do I make them understand that?!

Asked on 3/03/13, 4:30 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Get yourself an attorney. You've already answered your questions which was "can I be charged?".

Read more
3/03/13, 8:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now