Iowa  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/27/09, 3:01 pm

Legal Question


So im gonna make a long story short. About two months ago my friend got his place raided by the police because they were looking for property takin from a stolen car (yes they thought he stole a car) anyway they didn't find anything from the car but they did find a sent text message on his phone saying "hey wanna get picked up in a stolen car?"

They took his phone but didn't arrest him, in the last few months they've questioned a bunch of his friends asking if they knew anything about the stolen car (they didn't). Anyway is a single text message enough to charge someone with stealing a car? And if so why haven't they...

Also they took his prints but they didn't match any of the prints taken off the car, and he really isn't the type to do something like this.


question bubble
11/01/09, 4:43 pm

Legal Answer


Maybe. It depends upon the circumstances. I'm going to guess that the police are at least claiming to have additional evidence, as it is required that they have probable cause to conduct a search if that is what occurred. It is difficult to give a precise answer to your question without having a full professional investigation and assessment.

Todd Miler

Miler Law Firm 1300 37th Street, Suite 6 West Des Moines, IA 50266

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search