Iowa | Family Law
Legal Question
The father of my daughter whom will be 3 in march is no longer paying child support or carrying medical insurance on her (hasn't been for 3 months now). It states in our decree that he must carry insurance and pay child support plus have life insurance on himself. Mean while i am to pay the first 250 of medical expenses then we both pay 50/50 of whats left. He's never paid me a dime to help with medical expenses and now he's not carrying insurance on her or paying child support. So my question is do i have to let him take her for his visitation thats also in our decree?? if so then why is there even a decree if he can get away with not helping support our daughter yet still gets to do as he pleases and takes her.
Legal Answer
You don't get to violate the divorce decree because some other person does. Hire a lawyer, go to court and enforce the decree that you have.
solo practitioner 2008 66th Street Windsor Heights, IA 50324
► Other answers from this attorney

