Iowa  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/07/09, 6:15 pm

Legal Question


In Iowa, is there a grace period after a divorce is final in which one could re-marry? i.e. Could someone get married to another person the same day that their divorce papers were signed?

(The divorce is happening in Rhode Island, (his soon to be ex is there) and he lives in iowa.


question bubble
11/14/09, 12:19 am

Legal Answer


That question would be governed by Rhode Island law. In Iowa there is a waiting period of about 60 days before the decree becomes final.

Robert Luedeman

solo practitioner 2008 66th Street Windsor Heights, IA 50324

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search