Legal Question in Family Law in Iowa

I recently ended a 6 year relationship. In the relationship we had two children. I had to end up getting a protection order against my ex. I now how temporary custody of our children. I am thinking about moving nearer to my family but it is 6 hours away from my ex. He has stated that he can make it so I have to live in a 50 mile radius of him. I was wondering if that is possible in the state of Iowa. If not, does Iowa usually aware sole custody if the other parent has a drug addiction and an anger problem that he admits to but wont get help for?

Asked on 10/22/13, 12:48 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

1. No. You need to file for a custody and support order.

Read more
10/22/13, 8:20 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8785 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now