Iowa  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/20/11, 12:36 pm

My wife has filed for divorce and we live in iowa which is a no-fault state. If i fail to file an answer within the time allowed is it considered default? I heard that if it default she gets her divorce decree and only what is listed on the original petition. We have a two-year old and she has not asked for child support or spousal support in the petition, only to separate debts, assets, and liabilities.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

166 Answers given in the last few hours.

7526 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search