Legal Question in Family Law in Iowa

A woman I have know for quite some time is pregnant with her 3rd child. She doesn't have custody of the other 2, they live with her mother which is also not a very good situation. Shes an addict, unsure of who the father is. She asked me to adopt her baby. We already have a big family and I would like to know how she can legally give her her baby and what we would have to do for my husband and I to adopt her baby?

Asked on 2/26/12, 8:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You'll have to have a home study done and pass muster before you can even qualify. I suggest contacting an attorney who handles adoptions to guide you through the process

Read more
Answered on 2/26/12, 8:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now