Legal Question in Medical Leave in Iowa

We have an employee who is not married but has a live-in boyfriend for about 5 years. She wants to know if FMLA would be approved for her to take off work to learn how to care for him and his diabetes.

Asked on 3/04/11, 7:45 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Not married is not married. The act says "spouse" not "significant other" or "domestic partner".

Read more
3/09/11, 8:16 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Medical Leave Act questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8806 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Medical Leave Act Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now