Iowa  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
9/22/09, 4:09 pm

Legal Question


live in Iowa and have a very sick child I need to care for. My company is not eligible for FMLA due to it's size. I have exhaused all time off and my company states no exceptions shall be granted for using more time off than alloted and that termination will occur if time off is taken outside of the PTO. What can I do?


question bubble
9/23/09, 4:26 pm

Legal Answer


Not a whole lot of wiggle room there. No exceptions means no exceptions. Iowa is a right to work state which means that unless you have a contract of employment you can be fired for any reason, good reason or no reason at all.

Robert Luedeman

solo practitioner 2008 66th Street Windsor Heights, IA 50324

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search