Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Iowa

i was asked to make a video for a local country band by a woman my sister knew. i was shown similar videos of what she wanted, i told her i would do it for $200. I filmed a concert of theirs and was supposed to film more footage at a later time. I was paid at the time of the concert with a personal check from the woman that had her and her husbands name on it. I had scheduled to film the reamining footage twice and was canceld by her both times. A month went by before she told me to make the video with the footage I had already shot. I then explained to her that I would get to it as soon as i could because i was now doing other projects. A week later she informed me that she would no longer be overseeing the video and that a new woman had taken over as the bands manager and that i would be giving the video to her and that she would be looking for it soon. I edited together a video with what i had and gave it to them saying i could tweak it if needed. the second woman was unhappy with the video and demanded a refund. I explained to her that i was told to go with what i had and that i wasnt allowed to finish filming which was required to create the video i originally said i would. I also told her that she was not the one who paid me and not the one who hired me and that i had a canceled check to prove it was a personal check that did not have her name on it and that i also have a facebook conversation with the original woman saying that she was paying for it out of her own pocket. What kind of legal standing does the second woman have?

Asked on 7/29/13, 5:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Stephen Lombardi Lombardi Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Not much. The original agreement wasn't with this new managing person. Your contract was personally with the first woman, not the band.

Read more
7/29/13, 11:28 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now