Iowa | Immigration Law
Legal Question
My husband was arrested and charged with owi he has been sentenced with time served so is it true that ins has to pick him up within 48hrs?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
What is "owi?" Do you mean DWI, driving while intoxicated or DUI, driving under intoxication?
Immigration & Customs Enforcement (ICE) will only pick him up within 48 hours if they have an "immigration hold" on him. However, unless he's had repeated drunk driving convictions, one DUI conviction is normally not going to arouse ICE's attention since in most states, DUI is only a misdemeanor.
Larry L. Doan
www.GuruImmigration.com http://guruimmigration.wordpress.com (blog)
Note: The above response is provided for legal information only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration. We do not offer free advice except for the information provided herein on LawGuru which has been screened. If follow-up advice on your specific situation is desired, we offer a paid consultation in person if you are in the Los Angeles area, or by phone or email. Please visit our website www.GuruImmigration.com for more details.
|
Top Attorneys in IA
Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Law Offices of Michael S. Cho
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Rebecca White
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Lee Lane Smith LLP
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-06
Manchanda Law Offices PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
Law Offices of Isabella Mayzel
Springfield, NJ
Questions Answered: 52
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-19
Law Office of Liliana Loftman
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-21
Nachman & Associates, P.C.
Ridgewood, NJ
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-12
Search Questions and Answers


