Iowa | Employment Law
Legal Question
While on maternity leave my daughter met with her employer to tell them that she would not be returning. She did this in fairness to them so they could begin looking for a replacement. She didn't want to drop this on them at the last minute. As a result of this, they not only charged her for her medical premiums but also the employer portion. When we confronted them they said that this was agreed upon by my daughter and when we asked for proof of such agreement, they said when my daughter signed the employee handbook upon being hired, there was the proof. We don't agree and as a result, looking for some free legal advice before deciding what to do.


