Iowa  |  Employment Law

question bubble
3/16/08, 11:24 pm

Legal Question


Religious employee

Assume that a male worker is employed as a cashier at Walmart. This male worker is part of a religion that believes females are “inferior” to males and males are the “master”. Further, according to this religion, it is wrong for a female to give instructions to males and males should never follow a females instructions or be directed by a female to do anything. Assume that this male has a female boss who is the “head cashier” in charge of all cashiers at the Walmart store. The female boss tells the male worker to clean up his check-out isle to make it cleaner. The male refuses to follow these directions due to his religion. The male is written up and eventually fired for his continuous refusals to follow his boss’ directions. The male worker, who was fired, wants to sue Walmart. What law is involved here and describe if he will be successful and why/why not?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search