Iowa  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/14/09, 7:46 pm

Legal Question


my fiance and i decided to rent a house a week ago and signed a year lease. we have now decided its not the house for us and the owner will not give us our 800 back and 150 of it was for a pet deposit incase we decided to get one. we havent moved in and was supposed to take pocession december 1st. we signed a standard one page lease but he never gave us a copy of it. is there anything we can do to get our 800 back?


question bubble
11/20/09, 12:02 am

Legal Answer


Start by having an attorney write the property manager a nastygram. If that doesn't work sue the owner in small claims court.

Robert Luedeman

solo practitioner 2008 66th Street Windsor Heights, IA 50324

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search