Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Iowa

My landlord is trying to evict me because she claims that I never sent her a letter to add a roommate to my lease, and she is claiming fraud. I just moved to Iowa in January, and I am goin through the the transition of getting settled in. So due to the fact I had no car and, my phone service didn't work here ; I have been writing here letters to keep her updated on any changes in my living status. So in February I sent her a letter to add a roomate with copies of the person birth certificate, id, and social security card, and also to let her seen my phone wasnt working here so i would be contacting her via mail.I never recieved anything from her, and I honestly thought that she just added the new roomate to the lease.So that following month in march when my roommate got and interview/hired into a job I sent my landlord another letter which stated that my roommate was about to start working & that I would be sending his first two pay stubs for change of household income and then I referenced back to the previous letter in February and let her know I still didn't have a phone. Then on may 3rd I sent in my seen paystub, and a week later I recieved a letter in the mail stating that my landlord have reason to believe that I have someone living with me thats not on my leases due to the fact my address was on my roommates pay stubs that I sent in. Can I fight this eviction? Because I have witnesses that saw me write & mail the letter. She also recieved a letter in march telling her I was gone send in my roomates pay stubs, and she did nothing to inform me that my roomate was never added to the lease. Instead she trying to uses the pay stubs against me.

Asked on 5/15/13, 10:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Here's some required reading that will be of assistance to you.

http://www.iowalegalaid.org/resource/evictions-101

Read more
5/19/13, 12:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now