Iowa | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
We just moved in to a rental home in the Des Moines, IA area. We signed a one year standard rental lease agreement effective September 15, 2009. The landlord is now pressuring my husband and I to purchase the home, stating that he has a potential buyer who is willing to buy the home now. He wants to know if we are going to purchase the home after the one year lease is up. I had told him prior to moving in that I wasn't going to make promises about purchasing the home before even moving in to the house and that we wanted time to evaluate and make a wise choice instead of jumping in to an agreement.
What rights do we have? If he does sell the home prior to our lease being up, what happens to the terms of the lease?


