Iowa  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
1/13/10, 7:51 am

Legal Question


i quit my job a couple months ago. It involved a situation where my boss was also my friend. This friend used text messaging on the weekend to ask when my end date would be. I instead sent a text back to see if I could talk on phone. I called this boss/friend to finalize my end date and being it was also a friend situation I talked about the personal reasons why I was quitting.

I then later learned this conversation I thought was private had been put on speaker phone without my knowledge with at least one other person listening to the conversation. I also learned this conversation was also done at the place of business. I learned what had been done to me because the person that listened to the conversation told me who was also a friend. At the time I was scared on what to do and it was an emotional time with the friendship relationships involved.

I felt this was a violation of my trust and personal information shared. I feel this information was only supposed to be between me and my boss/employer. What I wanted to know would this have been enough legal action to do something or have taken this to Human Resources?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search