Iowa | Personal Injury
Legal Question
What should I do if I am in an accident?
What steps should I take to best protect my legal rights?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: J D Haas |
The following are some of the steps that you should take.
I will be discussing personal injury and wrongful death legal issues periodically. I will try to discuss these issues in chronological order so that they will be easier to understand.
If you know someone who has been injured by another person in a car accident, for example, or if you know someone who has been killed in a car accident, a common question is: “What do I do next”?
Protecting Your Rights
The first thing should be to get necessary medical attention so that the injured person can make a full recovery.
The second action should be to get all of the police reports and investigation. You should not sign anything from an insurance company until you have discussed it with legal counsel. Most insurance companies do not try to settle cases immediately after they occur; however, it is better to have an experienced professional review any documents before signing them in order to protect your legal rights.
The third action should be to get copies of employment records so that there is proof of lost income in case doctors say that the injured person cannot work for a period of time.
These actions should preserve evidence and they should provide you with options when deciding whether to hire a lawyer. |
Top Attorneys in IA
Lombardi Law Firm
West Des Monies, IA
Questions Answered: 352
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Peter M. Soble, P.C., Attorney
Rock Island, IL
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-30
Lawsuit Financial Corporation
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-13
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Harris Kuhn Law Firm, LLP
Omaha, NE
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-05-19
Hudson, Mallaney, Shindler and Anderson, P.C.
West Des Moines, IA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-29
McCarville Law, P.L.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-11
Hansen Law Offices
Burlington, IA
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-01
Krug Law Firm, P.L.C.
North Liberty, IA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Kreamer Law Firm, P.C.
West Des Moines, IA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


