Iowa  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/12/09, 8:50 pm

Legal Question


My exgirlfriend and I bought a house, with my step father being the third financial party, the house was $167. We (my ex and I) put down $10k towards a new addtion my Step father put down $51k for the down payment of the house. The addtion cost was somewhere around $35k, I paid for the $25k of that myself. Since the time we moved in together I have made the mortgage payment and she only made the gas/electric and cable payments. We lived in the house together for two years than we decided to split up she moved out on her free will and I have lived in the house by myself for the last two years she has never paid mortgage or property tax, utility payment in the those two years. She recently filed for bankruptcy and claimed the house as an asset she was granted by the state to do so, a month after she was cleared from the state her lawyer sent me a letter to settle with her for $30,000 and be removed off of the title of the home. In your opinion does she have any real grounds to stand on?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search