Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Iowa

A renter is refusing to pay last months rent and wants to use the deposit as payment. the lease agreement states that they will receive their deposit after a home inspection at the end of the lease. Can they legally do this?

Asked on 5/04/13, 2:34 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

They're bound by the terms of the lease, as you are. The question really is, what can you do about it and how much money is involved.

Read more
Answered on 5/05/13, 8:14 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now