Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Iowa

My father recently passed. I am his only child, exectutor, and sole benefitiary. He had a seperate life insurance policy, that was not large, but was suppose to go to me. When contacting the insurance company I learned his decease wife was his benefitiary. He was ill and never changed it. Now it goes to the estate, is taxed, and creditors and attorneys want their cut. My dad worked his entire life for a meager home they are forcing me to sell and now they get my life insurance. Doesn't seem fair. I am his next of kin, not the State of Iowa. So frustrated.

Asked on 6/03/13, 3:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Well, the policy didn't go to you. Not much you can do about your late father's failure to act.

Read more
Answered on 6/03/13, 5:57 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

89033 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now