Iowa  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
10/27/09, 9:16 pm

Legal Question


m a truck driver and was injured n an accident, after seeing the doctor i was told to rest for 7 days, see my doctor and then have therapy. my employer is having me stay in a motel to recover. Im from Fl and the company is in Iowa, can they do this?


question bubble
11/01/09, 10:47 pm

Legal Answer


Iowa is a right to work state which means the employers can pretty much do what they want, unless you have a contract of employment which is why those employee handbooks say they aren't a contract of employment.

Robert Luedeman

solo practitioner
2008 66th Street
Windsor Heights, IA 50324

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/02/09, 7:32 am

Legal Answer


Not only do I know which company it is I know where you're staying. That's how common this practice has become with this one trucking company. The idea behind it is to make you quit. If you quit they win. It's never been tested, but no, I doubt the commission would support it. My understanding is you have a very limited environment there and it's your basic cheap motel atmosphere. Are you a married man? Children? Is there food or just vending machines? You need to develop the reasons why you need to be home. Call me today if you need to rant. I'll be in the office after 8:00 a.m..

Stephen Lombardi

Lombardi Law Firm
1300 - 37th Street, Suite 6
West Des Monies, IA 50266

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search