Italy  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/09/09, 8:10 am

Divisione in natura co-owned house Italy

I was given a property in Italy by my grandfather some 10 years ago together with 8 other owners who are my cousins. The house is two stories, which are not connected by stairs. Four co-owners representing 50 percent of the shares in the house are threatening us to divide the house, with them getting the downstairs and the remaining getting the upstairs, either by agreement or through the court by seeking partition. Me and my sister want those wishing to divide to just buy us out NOW and resist the division!!! Can the court order them to buy us out as I do not think that a court can just order the house divided in this manner as Italian law says it must be conveniently divided with respect to the shares of the participants?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

213 Answers given in the last few hours.

7573 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search