Kansas  |  Disability Law

question bubble
10/28/09, 1:44 pm

Legal Question


I am a flooring installer and need knee surgery. Can I collect unemployment or disability during the time I am off for surgery?


question bubble
11/03/09, 11:28 am

Legal Answer


Your situation might warrant a workers compensation claim. If you have private disability insurance, this might warrant a claim. But, unless you are expected to be incapacitated for a year or more, your knee surgery may not warrant a social security disability claim. If your employer fires you for missing work for yoru surgery, you might be able to collect unemployment.

Good luck

Anthony Smith

LawSmith
P.O. Box 2336
Lee's Summit, MO 64063

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search