Kansas  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
9/19/05, 8:40 pm

Legal Question


Media Responsibility

If a serial killer such as BTK or Zodiac writes letters to the media, are they obligated to publish those letters, etc. or should they respect the wishes of law enforcement if they request for them not to be published? What exactly is the media's responsibility in publishing things to keep the public informed and to appease law enforcement? Is there a definitive line and who gets to determine that line?


question bubble
9/20/05, 9:46 am

Legal Answer


Re: Media Responsibility

May I add that the particular individuals you name also have First Amendment protections, and although convicted of heinous crimes, may not have those rights arbitrarily abridged. They may have views to express which, although controversial, are nonetheless entitled to expression in a free society.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/19/05, 9:15 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Media Responsibility

The media is pretty much free to publish or withhold such materials as it sees fit; except in very extreme situations the First Amendment will protect their decision either way. Most news outlets will honor a request from law enforcement not to reveal certain details, but such decisions are based on journalistic principles and not legal ones.

Edward Hoffman

Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 12301 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 500 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search