Re: concerning not having automobile insurance
Your husband has two primary issues. First, the failure to provide financial responsibility (insurance) could be used as grounds to suspend his license. It is very important that he obtain insurance immediately, if he wishes to avoid this ticket on his record. Secondly, Kansas is a No-Fault state, so each driver's insurer takes care of them. The other driver cannot come after your husband unless they have more than $2,000 in damages. However, as you wisely surmised, the insurance company may come after your husband for what they have paid out to the insured. You did not describe the other driver's damages, so I don't know if that is an issue.
Unless there are other unusual circumstances, that you have not mentioned, it is unlikely that your husband will get a jail sentence for the inattentive driving charge. However, if the other driver's damages are great enough, there is a chance that he may get some jail time, if he does not obtain insurance.
Who issued these tickets? Was it a highway patrolman, sheriif's deputy, fish and wildlife officer, or a municipal policeman? What county/city are the charges pending? This information could help clarify his options for minimizing the impact.
If he does nothing but pay the tickets, he probably won't get any jail time, and may lose his license for a while. Insurance companies often make agreements for you to pay them over time. So, that is a definite possibility.
Good Luck,
Tony Smith