time limit for a preliminary or postulatio hearing
Is there a state statue that requires a time limit on how soon a preliminary hearing must take place after an arrest. The Cherokee County court has postponed my hearing for over 12 months. I have had the charges read but to this day never had a preliminary hearing of any evidence against me. What if any laws is there how long this can get detained? I have tried to research this myself but to no avail. I would appreciate any help on answering this question.
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: time limit for a preliminary or postulatio hearing
You indicated that you have been before the Court for a First Appearance (reading of charges, advising of your rights); I assume you have been charged w/a felony? A preliminary hearing is usually set w/in 10 days of the 1st appearance, however, either party may continue the same for just cause. . .need more information to respond further.
Related Questions & Answers
Dropping charges My daughter does not want her stepfather charged in a case where... Asked 10/14/03, 6:06 pm in United States Kansas Criminal Law
Person Felony Can you tell me what the defenition of ''person felony'' is? If not... Asked 10/08/03, 11:08 pm in United States Kansas Criminal Law
Can I get charged just by being around people who have drugs? If you are around a... Asked 8/01/03, 2:45 pm in United States Kansas Criminal Law
Is it Self Incrimination? My 16 year old step son has been ordered by the Juvenile... Asked 7/31/03, 9:30 pm in United States Kansas Criminal Law
Use of force My brother was with a group of people, at a gas station and the police... Asked 7/21/03, 7:37 pm in United States Kansas Criminal Law