Legal Question in Family Law in Kansas

Can my daughter petition the court to allow her to claim her 3 boys on income taxes for last year without having a lawyer? In the origional divorce papers it says HE can claim them each year but last February courts ordered change of custody of the 3 boys to be with HER! He has not paid a DIME ALL YEAR to help support the boys & she has had PHYSICAL CUSTODY & been struggling all year to take care of them with no help from him whatsoever!!! She can't afford an attorney as she has no money because her ex hasn't helped AT ALL! Can she file first & claim them & when she gets the money get an attorney to address the claiming of them on the taxes? If HE gets the money she won't see a dime of it.

Asked on 1/11/11, 8:56 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Smith LawSmith
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The state can go after the refund and her ex directly. Your daughter should contact the county counselor's office to see who will assist her.

Good luck

Read more
1/16/11, 1:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Kansas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now