Kansas | Family Law
Legal Question
i went thur a divorce and on my mortage .i would like to get out of it and let my ex have complet control of it and have mu name taking off how can i do this
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Rian Ankerholz |
This issue is often covered in the divorce paperwork itself. Check to see if the paperwork requires your former spouse to have your name removed from the mortgage. Normally, this must be done through refinancing. If your former spouse does not qualify for refinancing based on her own income, check to see if she has listed any spousal maintenance as income, if the same is being paid. Once in a great while, the mortgage company will grant something called a novation, which is a release of one party without refinancing, but that is rare. |
Top Attorneys in KS
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Ankerholz and Smith
Overland Park, KS
Questions Answered: 345
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Bonnie J. Selby, Attorney at Law
Goodland, KS
Questions Answered: 240
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-04-05
Grant Griffiths
Clay Center, KS
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-07-14
Law Office of Mark A. Reiter, LLC
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-10-04
Law Office of Adam Mack
Topeka, KS
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-23
The Legal Resource Center
Lees Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-11-30
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
OLLER, JOHNSON & BITTEL, L.L.C.
Hays, KS
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-06
Michael T. Wilson, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Wichita, KS
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-01-28
Search Questions and Answers


