Kansas  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
1/08/01, 10:05 am

Legal Question


Inequitable coverage after age 65

At age 66, I am still employed full time in a job I like and have been doing ten years. A recent discovery in company policy gives me cause to question whether my concern is actionable. The company provides life insurance to a maximum of one years' salary free to all employees nationally. I have no plans to cash in on it, but discovered that each year after 65 the coverage decreases by ten percent per year. When I questioned the Human Relations office, the response was that this is standard practice in the insurance industry. My response to that is ''So was red lining in predominantly black housing areas until that was declared illegal'' Is ageism involved, and what is our recourse?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search