Kansas | Traffic Law
Legal Question
Can my driving privileges be revoked for getting 2 Fail to maint. Liab. Ins-Court offenses and 1 driving wihile suspeded ofense.
Fail to maint. liab ins-cour 1 offense date: 7/28/09
Driving while suspended: 2/3/05
Fail to maint. liab ins-court.
The 7/8/04 offense was due to drop off my record after 10/22/04. I was told that offenses dropped off your record after 3 years or does this depend on what type of offense it is? Anyway, it has been right at 5 years since the first fail to maint. liab ins-court. Is there any thing I can do or present to the court to get the 2004 offense dropped since it is right at 5 years? I cannot be without a DL, I work every day and have a child I have to take to school every day and pick up. I also have other obligations like doctor appts., grocery store etc.. The DA said that I would have to prove a manifest in justice. How can I present this to the judge/court to convince that there is a manifest in justice? I cannot afford a lawyer and will have to represent myself. Who would the decision to drop the 04 offense on off my record be up to, the court or department of revenue, in order for me to be able to keep my driving privileges? Please help. I need some advice on what to do to and how to fight this situation to be able to keep my driving privileges.


