Kansas  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
10/29/09, 4:55 pm

Legal Question


My Knee twisted during the job, and workers compensation paid all fees that were required for me and know I have been working for 3 months and im doing pretty good. My other knee also got arthritis during my job.

What is the percentage of legal settlement that workers compensation can pay to the employee?


question bubble
11/03/09, 5:35 pm

Legal Answer


You have several issues regarding your workers' compensation case. First, you will be concerned with the amount of any permanent impairment in your knee. Second, you may have some secondary involvement of the opposite knee. Kansas workers' compensation is based on units of measurement (weeks) assigned to different body parts. A single knee is evaluated on the basis of 200 weeks. It may be necessary to obtain the report of an independent doctor to evaluate your impairment. Consult an experienced workers' compensation attorney.

Rian Ankerholz

Ankerholz and Smith
6900 College Boulevard, Suite 510
Overland Park, KS 66211

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/04/09, 8:50 am

Legal Answer


Under Kansas Workers Compensation law you are to be awarded the percent of disability put on your knee by company's doctor or your doctor x 200 weeks x 2/3 of your average weekly wage. You are entitled to hire your own doc to get a second opinion on the rating (% of disability). If your doctor, or, less likely, the company doctor is of the opinion that your other knee is injured because of your work or because you have been favoring the bad knee, you should try to recover for injury to both knees. It gets complicated. I recommend you hire a competant workers compensation attorney. You will get more money in the end.

Jim Wisler

James L. Wisler Law Offices
1311 Wakarusa Drive, Suite 2200
Lawrence, KS 66049

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search