Kansas | Workers Comp
Legal Question
Refused medical treatment
I had a left knee replacement last summer. The replacement & treatment of the left knee is the result of a court order.
Today was my 6 month appointment scheduled at the request of the doctor’s nurse.
The receptionist checking me in called the case manager for authorization of today’s appointment. When she got off the phone she said the wc insurance company will not authorize for you to see the doctor for your left knee.
She then gave me a copy of a fax per her conversation with the case manager.
It reads:
Per our conversation, we are authorizing treatment of the right knee only. We are denying left knee treatment.
I read the fax and told the receptionist to look thru my medical records for the court order of medical treatment for the left knee. The office staff tells me they can not provide treatment without approval from the insurance company.
What do I need to do?
Thank you for your answer.
Kay


