Kentucky | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
debt help
i was wondering if there is a specific debt to income ratio to qualify for chapter 7 bankruptcy. between credit card bills and other monthly bills, i have about $40 left over month.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Steven Schiller |
Re: debt help When reviewing chapter 7 petitions, the U. S. Trustee compares the monthly income to the monthly expenses such as rent / mortgage, food, clothing, car expenses, etc. There are guidelines which prevent a debtor from claiming that, for instance, his cost for food for a family of one is $1,000 per month. If there is no significant excess of income over expenses, the debtor can file chapter 7. However, another factor which must be considered is how much non - exempt property he has (eg. equity of over $2,500 per debtor in a car; equity of over $5,000 in a house, etc.) If there is excess income, or if a debtor wishes to keep property over and above that allowed under the exemptions, a chapter 13 should be considered that would require a monthly payment to the Trustee for at least 36 months, but would allow the debtor to keep all the property. If you would like to discuss in more detail, please feel free to give me a call at 859-261-6811 (Newport KY office) |
Top Attorneys in KY
Troutman & Napier, PLLC
Lexington, KY
Questions Answered: 958
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Davis Law Office
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 288
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-10
Steven L. Schiller, Attorney at Law
Newport Ky (& Cincinnati Oh), KY
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-04
Affordable Louisville Lawyer
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-17
Pulliam Law Office
Munfordville, KY
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-08
Voorhees & Levy LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-28
Law Office of R. Brian Ousley
Henderson, KY
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
John Rogers, Attorney at Law
Glasgow, KY
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-22
Abell Law Office
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 10
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-27
Search Questions and Answers


