Kentucky  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
11/26/04, 1:15 pm

Legal Question


Divorce Decree

As being named a creditor of my ex. Can I survive BK with a divorce decree ? Ordered to pay me monies in decree. They are in contempt of court for not paying monthly amount.


question bubble
12/06/04, 1:55 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Divorce Decree

Federal law (Bankrutpcy) is superior to state law. However, you may file a proof of claim. Unless her debt to you is secured, (and even if it is under Chapter 7), you are likely to receive no money.

A Woodson Pulliam

Pulliam Law Office 300 Main at Union, P.O. Box 159 Munfordville, KY 42765-0159

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/26/04, 1:46 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Divorce Decree

If the money you are owed is "alimony, maintenance or support", a bankruptcy will not discharge the obligation to pay. However, what is "alimony, maintenance or support" is sometimes not that easy to tell: some court cases interpret payment obligations not to be alimony, maintenance or support even if the divorce decree designates them as such.

If the obligation is not alimony, maintenance or support, it might still be nondischargeable in bankruptcy if you have timely filed an adversary action seeking review of it: It might be nondischargeable if the debtor has the ability to pay, and if the equities of harm / benefit to one party versus the other weighs in your favor.

This is a very gray area, and you might be well advised to have an attorney review the matter. And, as quickly as possible, since the adversary proceeding must be brought fairly quickly, or the opportunity is lost.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at 859-261-6811 (Newport KY office)

Steven Schiller

Steven L. Schiller, Attorney at Law 4 West Fourth St., Suite 200 Newport Ky (& Cincinnati Oh), KY 41071

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search