Kentucky | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Are non-federal student loans dischargable in bankruptcy cases?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gregory Napier |
I am afraid that the same requirments for dischargeability apply to private institution student loans as to the federally guaranteed loans. Both of them can be discharged, but only with a showing that having to repay them would be unduly burdensome on the debtor. This is actually a pretty hard standard to meet, but not impossible if the facts are right. |
Top Attorneys in KY
Troutman & Napier, PLLC
Lexington, KY
Questions Answered: 958
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Davis Law Office
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 288
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-10
Steven L. Schiller, Attorney at Law
Newport Ky (& Cincinnati Oh), KY
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-04
Affordable Louisville Lawyer
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-17
Pulliam Law Office
Munfordville, KY
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-08
Voorhees & Levy LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-28
Law Office of R. Brian Ousley
Henderson, KY
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
John Rogers, Attorney at Law
Glasgow, KY
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-22
Abell Law Office
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 10
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-27
Search Questions and Answers


