Legal Question in Admiralty Law in Louisiana

My husband, a maritime licensed captain employed in Louisiana, was laid off on 5/11/12. We were told today (5/17) via phone call to the company, that our health insurance was canceled effective 5/11. We never received notice of the cancellation, either by phone or in writing. Was the company legally required to give us notice of termination of our insurance?

Asked on 5/17/12, 2:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Adam Lambert The Law Office of Adam S. Lambert
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes. They were required to inform you and they were further required to offer you COBRA. That notice was supposed to be in writing.

Read more
Answered on 5/17/12, 3:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Admiralty Law questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now