Louisiana  |  Admiralty Law

question bubble
4/02/09, 10:28 am

Legal Question


Oil & Gas in Federal Waters

Is there any case law affecting Louisina federal waters that would allow one platform owner to use a joint platform without 100% (say 90%) approval of the other platform owners?


question bubble
4/02/09, 10:34 am

Legal Answer


Re: Oil & Gas in Federal Waters

You may want to look at the Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act at:http://www4.law.cornell.edu/uscode/43/ch29.html

Regarding your request for "case law", I did not perform such a search. However, the normal laws of trespass and property ownership as well as laws/regulations that were passed post-911 may apply.

Have a nice day!

Steve Gordon

Gordon & Elias, L.L.P. 5821 Southwest Freeway, Suite 422 Houston, TX 77057

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search