Louisiana  |  Aviation Law

question bubble
7/21/02, 1:55 pm

Legal Question


Negligence

I would like to know if contaminated fuel in a helicopter is grounds for negligence. The fuel nozzle inlet screen was found to be collapsed and contaminated with an ''apple jelly'' type material which adhered to the fuel system components. The jelly like substance came from salt water and DIEGME (a fuel additive used as an icing inhibitor)which allowed bacteria to grow and create this substance. This is supposably the cause of three choppers that went down and crashed.


question bubble
7/22/02, 10:18 am

Legal Answer


Re: Negligence

If an economic loss resulted, and the substance can be identified as having come from a known source, then if negligence can be assigned to an identifiable source there is a legal claim.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search