Louisiana  |  Bankruptcy

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/06/10, 7:22 am

my husband took bankruptcy in 2006. he acquired a discover card in my name. The card was covered under the chapter 7 bankruptcy proceedings. The chapter 7 bankruptcy had a discharge of debtor and discover was listed among them on June 2007. This this happen Discover has moved the credit card debt to my name. How can I get this removed?

1 Answer


Answered on: 9/12/10, 3:32 am by Martha Amanda Mandi Lucas

If the debt was acquired during the marriage, it is also yours. If it was acquired after the filing of a divorce, it is not community. If it was acquired without your knowledge, then you would have criminal charges against him and Discover should work with you. If the debt was acquired prior to a divorce being filed, you were aware of the debt and he alone filed for bankruptcy, Discover can collect from you.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Mandie Seale Lucas 14418 Patin Dyke Road Ventress, LA 70783

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search