Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Louisiana

aged debt

I had a car loan back in 1997 in nov 1998 the vehicle was totalled in an accident I informed the finance company that the insurance was not sufficient to cover the entire loss,the finance company then picked up the vehicle & sold it and applied the proceeds to the deficiency balance.

now in 2004 the finance company has sold this old account to a collection agency for the remaining balance. the collection agency is located in the state of LA im located in CA is it legal to sell this account after almost 7 years and does the statute of limitations apply?

Asked on 2/11/04, 12:38 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Larry Rothman Larry Rothman & Associates
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: aged debt

There is a 4 year statute of limitation. You may have a case under the Fair Debt Collection Act. Please contact our office at 714 363 0220 for review of your documentation.

Read more
2/12/04, 3:16 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now