Louisiana | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
My boyfriend of close to 20 yrs died and left money in the bank. I am not on his account so how can I retrieve the funds. He and I have a 12 yr old daughter together.
My boyfriend of close to 20 yrs died and left money in the bank. I am not on his account so how can I retrieve the funds. He and I have a 12 yr old daughter together.
|
Read More Answered By: Nick Pizzolatto, Jr. |
Assuming your daughter is his only heir, the legal way is to open his succession on her behalf. She would inherit the money and any other property he owned at the time of his death. |
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 3157
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Ventress, LA
Questions Answered: 1605
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 1070
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Thibodaux, LA
Questions Answered: 234
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-08
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-04-04
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-02
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-15
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Morgan City, LA
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-09-08
► My husband and his ex have been divorced about 3 years now. She filed Chapter 13...
► My mortage company is ruining my credit score. they were reporting that i was a 120...
► What actions are taken for not paying pay day loans back
► We sold a home in Louisiana to a party who gave bad checks to utility company to pay...
► A collection agency has just had papers served to my moms house, given to my...
► I sold a car to a friend of a friend ( I know, stupid) She was supposed to pay...
► Can you be sued again by a plaintiff if they have already dropped their claim in a...
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Louisiana| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press