Louisiana  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 5:52 pm

Legal Question


What recourse do I have if a collection agency is harassing me about a medical bill is paid in full? This is the second letter that I have gotten from them and have called them both times and they verified that the account was paid in full. The second letter has threatened legal action.


question bubble
11/18/09, 9:02 pm

Legal Answer


Phone calls, unless recorded, mean nothing. Write a certified letter to them, return receipt requested, telling them it is paid and if they contact you again, you will sue. Then take the green receipt that someone will sign at their address and hang on to it. If they write you again, sue them. If they call, make sure you record it....then sue them. If it is just you said they said, you lose.

Nick Pizzolatto, Jr.

Pizzolatto Law Office 2771 Paul White Road Lake Charles, LA 70611

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search