Louisiana  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
9/04/09, 12:15 pm

Legal Question


We sold a home in Louisiana to a party who gave bad checks to utility company to pay past due account and deposit. The utility company has turned over the collection of the amounts to a collection agency to have us pay the amounts of the bad checks. The utility company accepted the assignment letter from us to the buyer in July 2008. We now have a bad debt on our credit report. Can we have the bad debt removed since we were not involved or responsible for the bad checks?? We live in Florida.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search