Legal Question in Criminal Law in Louisiana

Apperantly in 2006 there was a warrant out for me and I did not realize it. Yesterday they came to my home and told my girlfriend. I spoke with the officer and assured him the I would turn my self in and did.he did not handcuff me until I reach the door and was ready to walk in for booking. I was never told what when why. Only that it was a felony theft of a powerwasher. I was never given my rights and did not have a hold on me I was in and out in less than 2 hours.He the officer kept saying that I would run . Now he says I will get a letter in the mail about the court date. I did asked why have I know been contacted before now because I have lived at the address for almost 2 and half years and been working here. Why would I turn myself in if I was going to run? I drove myself to the jail and all I asked is to get this straighten out. He also told me that the reason nothing was done was because they forgot to renew the warrent. Please advise me as to what I need to do .

Asked on 2/09/10, 3:52 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Nick Pizzolatto, Jr. Pizzolatto Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Get an attorney. Do not try to handle a felony on your own.

Read more
Answered on 2/14/10, 4:17 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now