Louisiana  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 1:56 am

Legal Question


I have been dating a girl for about a month and she wants to have sex. She is 17 and I am 22 in Louisiana. I was a little confused on how the statute was worded. Would this be legal or should I wait until she is 18?


question bubble
11/21/09, 11:14 am

Legal Answer


As a father I suggest you be very careful about diseases, preganacy, etc.

As an attorney, the age of sexual consent in the state of Louisiana is the 17th birthday. Make her show you proof of age because if she lies you can be convicted of Carnal Knowledge of a Juvenile.

Andrew Casanave

Andrew M. Casanave P.O. Box 641 Lake Charles, LA 70601

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/22/09, 10:39 am

Legal Answer


I presume NOT having sex with her is out of the question. I would suggest you leave her alone, since I can also presume you are not her first. With that said, 17 is "legal" if not prudent.

Nick Pizzolatto, Jr.

Pizzolatto Law Office 2771 Paul White Road Lake Charles, LA 70611

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search