Louisiana  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/10/09, 4:40 pm

Legal Question


I plead guilty to simple Marj. with out article 894. I hired a lawyer and he is charging me 500.00 to file the 894 after the fact. I was not aware that 894 could be filed after I have been sentenced and completed probation and everything it lintels. I hope I am not being bamboozled! Please give me honest info THANKS!


question bubble
11/15/09, 8:05 pm

Legal Answer


Whether 894 or 895, the defendant, you, must file a motion to have the prosecution dismissed! How else would the court know if you did what you were supposed to do unless you file evidence? Since you are the one benefitting, YOU must pay to do it all.....the DA and probation office must confirm that you completed what you were supposed to do. You have NOT BEEN BAMBOOZLED, but if you screwed up some where along the line during your probation, you did not BAMBOOZLE the court and you will be punished. If you did everything, then your 500 bucks will clear your record.......

Nick Pizzolatto, Jr.

Pizzolatto Law Office 2771 Paul White Road Lake Charles, LA 70611

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search