Legal Question in Family Law in Louisiana

Louisiana Divorce Question

After Katrina my husband

dramatically changed and left me for

another woman. Question: While

we were married he said that the

Condo in Belize and the bank

account were in both of our names...

He told me right before our

separation that it was only in his

name. A friend of mine said that at

least in California and Colorado that I

would at least be entitled to half of

the appreciation value of the

property? Since Louisiana is under

Napoleanic Law, I was wanting to

know if I might be entitled to some

of the appreciation? Since my

husband left me penniless, I have

had to move to Colorado to live with

my parents...

Asked on 7/19/07, 8:19 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Nick Pizzolatto, Jr. Pizzolatto Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Louisiana Divorce Question

Forget the Nepoleonic code. Louisiana is a community property state, so you very well may have interest in all of his things.

Read more
7/20/07, 8:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8812 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now